Monday, April 23, 2012

Bahrain in Numbers

Bahrain, Sakhir. 4th race of the season and the 8th time Formula One was racing here. The 4th race of the season saw a new 2012 winner, making it 4 different winners (drivers and teams) in 4 races: Jenson Button (McLaren), Fernando Alonso (Ferrari), Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) and Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull). This is the first time since 1983 that this happens.

So Sebastian had to wait 6 races (India 2011) before winning his first race of the season and his 22nd of his career. He is the 5th driver to win in Bahrain - Ferrari's Fernando and Felipe are the ones to have won the most here (3 and 2 wins respectively), while Jenson and Michael Schumacher have only won once. Vettel also achieved his 31st pole of his career and also did the fastest lap of the race, making it his 4th hat-trick in Formula One, and he also become the 4th driver to go on to win the race from pole (Schumacher 2004, Alonso 2005 and Massa 2007).

Red Bull haven't had the best of starts to the season, with McLaren and Mercedes taking the lead at first, but after the first 4 races they are now leading the Constructors Championship with 101 points (9 ahead of McLaren) and with Seb 1st (53 points, 4 ahead of Hamilton) and teammate Webber 3rd with 48.

It was another race of "firsts", as Romain Grosjean achieved his first ever podium in F1 after only 4 races this season. So there are now 14 drivers on the 2012 grid who have been on the podium. And talking about podiums, Kimi Raikkonen achieved his 63rd podium and his 1st since his comeback. A great weekend for Lotus F1 Team.

Force India´s Paul Di Resta equalled his best ever result in F1 after finishing 6th, while Mark Webber crossed the line in 4th position for the 4th time in a row this year. No podium for the Australian driver in 2012 yet, and the first time Lewis Hamilton didn't end up in the top 3. Felipe Massa finally achieved his first 2012 points after finishing 8th, while Schumacher added a single point again to his tally.

It was the first time this season that Marussia didn´t finish a race with both cars as Charles Pic wasn't able to finish the race. Timo Glock, together with Fernando Alonso and Paul Di Resta, are the only 3 drivers that have been able to beat their teammates in every race this season.

It's been an excellent start to the season: 4 races, 3 different pole sitters, 4 different winners, 8 different drivers have already been on the podium and 18 out of the 24 drivers have scored points. This is Formula One 2012.

No comments: